A Well Deserved Treat

I went crazy yesterday. Crazy in the sense that I scrubbed my entire apartment, did about six loads of laundry, ran two and a half miles and did a yoga workout. I was motivated! After all that hard work, and after reading the first two Propositions in Spinoza’s Ethics for philosophy class, I had one hell of a fooditude brewing.

Since it was well past supper time, I decided to bake myself a delicious snack. Generally, after a long, tiring day I would sit down and snack on some ice cream. Since I have no idea how to make that and I didn’t feel like driving to Walmart, I settled for my second favorite treat: cookies.

Last night I decided to make a simple batch of dark chocolate chip cookies, and I feel like a greatly succeeded. So of course, I’m now sharing the recipe here so you can imitate my skills… or just stop up to my room if you’re on campus. I have a ton of cookies which I do not need to eat!

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2-1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 sticks of softened butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 12oz. bag of Hershey’s special dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375º
  2. In a large bowl mix together baking soda, salt, butter, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla and eggs
  3. Slowly mix in the flour. I add about half a cup at a time to keep it from getting everywhere.
  4. Stir in chocolate chips
  5. roll dough into small balls – about an inch in diameter (or whatever size you’re feeling like) and set on a cookie sheet at least and inch apart
  6. Bake for 9-10 minutes
  7. Remove cookies from baking sheet and allow to cool for 5-10 minutes
  8. Enjoy!
One response

Leave a Reply

