Defining the Fooditude

Fooditude: [food-i-tood]

noun.

The angry, bitchy feeling an individual gets when their stomach is deprived of essential nutrition.  The longer ignored, the more disagreeable, whiny and potentially violent the ailing person grows. The solution? Cease any current activities and focus all energy in finding food for the afflicted or prepare to suffer the consequences…

Hello, my name is Rachel. I am 21 years-old and I suffer from frequent fooditudes.

When my stomach starts growling, so do I. I just can’t help it when one of my notorious fooditude kicks in. I lose all rationality and my animalistic senses kick in until I quench the desires of my stomach.

Over time, I have learned that the best defense to a fooditude is to be prepared. Learning to cook filling foods for yourself is the only way to truly manage this disorder. Here, I plan to share my recipes and culinary experiences with you provide some tips and tricks to help keep the growling to a minimum.

A fooditude isn’t fun… for anyone! In an attempt to cure world hunger, or at least your hunger, I am dedicating this blog to everyone who loves food and just want to take some time to share recipes and other culinary experiences.

To begin in the sharing, let’s discuss how to make my all-time favorite food: Sushi. There is nothing better than an incredible sushi roll, but the price of good sushi can easily put a dent in anyone’s pocketbook. When you’re a broke college student, enjoying good sushi is a cherished rarity. If you are a hard-core sushi-lover, like myself and roommates, one way around this is to make your own rolls at home. I know, this sounds tricky, but I promise if I can make it so can you.

There’s no rule to what you can put into a sushi roll. Ingredients can differ depending on personal tastes. The following ingredients are what my roommates and I used during our past sushi-making experiment.

  • Salmon, shrimp, crab, or any other preferred seafood – raw or baked (depending on preference)
  • Sliced vegetables. I recommend cucumbers, avocados, asparagus and/or carrots.
  • Cream cheese block
  • Sesame seeds
  • Sticky rice purchased from your local oriental market place
  • Nori (seaweed wraps)
  • Sushi mat (if you don’t have this you can also use a flexible place mat)

How to do it:

  1. Prepare the rice by following the directions on the package. Make sure not to stir the rice, this causes it to lose its sticky consistency.
  2. While rice is cooking prep the seafood and cut the vegetables and cream cheese into thin slices.
  3. When prepping is completed, place a nori sheet (shiny side down) on the sushi mat and cover with a layer of sushi rice.
  4. Place the desired meats and vegetables at one end of the rice bed.
  5. Beginning from the side with the fillings, roll the nori sheet jelly-roll style pressing firmly down on the sushi mat to ensure roll stays together well.
  6. Slice roll into 3/4-inch slices.

    Our successful sushi making experiment.

See! Not so difficult. Just a few tips to remember: You might want to place the pre-cut rolls in the freezer for a few minutes. This allows the rolls to cool and harden which makes cutting a lot easier.  Make sure to cut slowly and use a serrated knife if you have one. Finally, serve with soy sauce, wasabi and/or unagi sauce and enjoy!

Check out this site for more sushi recipes and ideas.

One response

  1. I’ve always used “hangry” but fooditude is a pretty great description too! I’ve only been seriously inflicted with this a handful of times, but it’s certainly not something I’d like to repeat!

Leave a Reply

